Eighty Drivers Double Their Driving Fun With Autocrossers, Inc.

July 5th, 2012 | Posted by admin in Uncategorized

Twice a year, Autocrossers, Incorporated (AI) puts on a unique autocross program at Regency Furniture Stadium in Waldorf, Maryland. Drivers start the day with four runs in the morning, then take a break inside the stadium where they are served lunch. Following lunch, they return to find the course reversed and tweaked, and they get four runs on that course. The morning and afternoon sessions are treated as separate events with double trophies and season points awarded to those who excel.

AI’s Eric Kriemelmeyer designed the courses used on June 16, producing roughly 45-second runs that featured transitional elements that appeared to require slowing to maneuver, but, with experience, could be taken at speed. A capacity entry was on hand and the day was run under ideal weather conditions.

Double winners in contested classes were common. Steve Mitchell won both ends of the doubleheader in his Mini Cooper (D Stock class). Michael Harrigan (D Prepared Mazda Miata) beat his son Ryan in both sessions. Alejandro Aviles (Honda Civic Si) swept Street Touring Compact but the margins of victory were smaller than he’s been accustomed to. Pete Tyson (Street Touring Extreme BMW 325iS) won both morning and afternoon by less than a second in each case. Jerry Byrd won both sessions in Street Touring Ultra in his Subaru WRX STi, Rani Emad won both in Street Modified in a BMW M3, and Timothy Walker scored the double in his Super Street Modified Toyota MR2.

Some classes had two winners. In C Stock, Learic Cramer (Nissan 370Z) won in the morning but Les Banyas (Mazda Mazdaspeed MX-5) took the class in the afternoon. The largest non-PAXed class, Street Touring Roadster, saw Christopher Lin win in the morning but finished second to the owner of the Toyota MR2 Spyder that he drove, Daniel Bragason, in the afternoon.

The Stock Road Tire classes attracted a variety of entrants for their three PAXed categories. David Eng won the morning’s All Wheel Drive Road Tire class with an unlikely car, an H Stock Subaru Legacy station wagon. In the afternoon, Eng fell to second behind Harry Hogenkamp’s Subaru WRX STi. In Front Wheel Drive, the top three (all driving D Stock Mini Cooper S) were separated by mere fractions of a second, although the order never changed. Winning both sessions was John Raymond, followed by Dan Myer and Jack Raymond. Khalid Ismail won the morning Rear Wheel Drive class in a C Stock Mazda MX-5, but Justin Neal (C Stock Mazda RX8) won in the afternoon.

Five drivers entered the PAXed Novice class, and the winners were Christopher Jennings (Street Modified FWD Acura RSX-S) in the morning and Philip Chaney (Street Touring Roadster Honda S2000) in the afternoon.

The PAXed Pro class, for the most experienced autocrossers, had 16 entries. Doug Keiler came up from the Tidewater area to win the morning session in his D Street Prepared BMW 323, followed by John Willemin (Street Touring Ultra Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution) and Lee Piccione (E Street Prepared Ford Mustang). In the afternoon, Willemin got his revenge with the win, followed by Lance Heinrich (B Stock Honda S2000) and Keiler.

In both morning and afternoon sessions, the fastest overall time was set by Laurence Casey in his X Prepared Factory Five Roadster.

Autocrossers, Inc. returns to action at Regency Furniture Stadium on Sunday, July 15th with a traditional single-course event, and registration is open now. The entry fee is $35. All participants must be SCCA members, and those who are not yet SCCA members can get a weekend membership for the event for an additional $10. Novices are welcome. Information about autocross in general, Autocrossers Inc. in particular, as well as the schedule and links for event registration are all found at http://www.autocrossersinc.com.

–Alan Claffie

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 You can leave a response, or trackback.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *